Each element is manifested into one of three modalities: Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable. When we combine the four elements (Air, Water, Fire, and Earth) with three distinct modalities, we are presented with the twelve signs of the zodiac.

Cardinal: Cardinal energy incites change. This mode is action-oriented, and cardinal signs can set off a series of events while projecting themselves onto their environment.

Cardinal signs: Libra, Aries, Capricorn, Cancer.

Fixed: Fixed energy is contained, emitting outward from within. Signs within this modality are resistant to change, Prefering instead that their environment adapts to fit to their will and their set of beliefs.

Fixed signs: Aquarius, Leo, Taurus, Scorpio.

Mutable: Mutable signs represent energy that is subject to change and is in a constant spiral of fluctuations.

Mutable Signs: Gemini, Sagittarius, Virgo, Pisces.

Want more astro insight? Chat with us on Facebook Messenger and get daily updates for your sign.